5# Weekly Report [2011/6/20 – 2011/6/26]

The ‘develop’ command still needs some improvement work, but there are different opinions which has brought a serious arguing in our fellowship list, so I have a little break and listen to what other people say.

Because different people may have different purposes and use the ‘develop’ command in a very different way, the continuous arguing will not help reach an extensive consensus, what’s more, may trap people in a chaos situation. So I just created a wiki page to collect these different use cases talked about in our list. Interested people can take a look at: http://wiki.python.org/moin/UsecasesOfDevelop . This page will be taken as a good idea base in future improvement work, and in my initial thought, some good features of setuptools will be kept in packaging, and some new features may be added if there are some good use cases that setuptools can not cover.

With regard to the ‘automatic script creation’ work, I have noticed there already are some good discussion on bug tracker, initiated by Eric. The issue870479 and issue976869 have already been set as duplicate with issue12394, so the final product of my second task is mainly to fix the issue12394, while there are many good opinions on these three issue pages, which will take me some time to read and collect the useful information.

Regards,

higery

This entry was posted in GSOC2011. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5# Weekly Report [2011/6/20 – 2011/6/26]

  1. Éric Araujo says:

    > so I have a little break and listen to what other people say.

    In the mean time, you can address the things I noted in previous blog comment and on http://bugs.python.org/review/8668/show 🙂 There are also the two other bugs that develop depends on.

    I’ll reply to the ML with my opinion in a few days, and I’m following the wiki page. Don’t let the heat of the discussion burn you, but don’t fear it will lead to chaos.

    BTW, are you working from the develop command in setuptools or its fork distribute? The latter has some improvements. It’s also in a Mercurial repo, which you can navigate with TortoiseHg to understand why some options were added (and why they’re not applicable for packaging).

    > With regard to the ‘automatic script creation’ work, I have noticed there
    > already are some good discussion on bug tracker, initiated by Eric.
    I had promised to clean up all those issues, so I finally did it.

    > so the final product of my second task is mainly to fix the issue12394,
    Closing one or three bugs is just bookkeeping; the real work is what takes time.

    > while there are many good opinions on these three issue pages, which will
    > take me some time to read and collect the useful information.
    All useful information should be copy-pasted or linked to in my big message on bug #12394.

  2. higery says:

    >>BTW, are you working from the develop command in setuptools or its fork distribute? The latter has some improvements.

    I am working from the develop command in setuptools. I have not yet spent time on reading the distribute, so does not know these improvements.

Leave a Reply

